The 21st Chinese University Tennis Championship and “The President Cup” Tennis Match Are Held at Zhengzhou University

27 September,2016
Share to

ZZU students Participating in the 21st National University Tennis Championship

Sponsored by Chinese College Students Sports Association and hosted by Zhengzhou University and Henan University of Technology, the 21st Chinese University Tennis Championship and “The President Cup” Tennis Match were opened at the sports center on the main campus of Zhengzhou University on 27th, July. More than 2,000 teachers and students from 139 universities all over China, including Peking University, Tsinghua University, Renmin University of China, Zhejiang University, Wuhan University, Zhengzhou University, University of Macau and so on, participated in the match.

Liu Jiongtian, President of Zhengzhou University, delivered the opening speech and extended warm welcome to all teachers and students participating in the match. He also gave a brief introduction to the achievements Zhengzhou University has made in the construction and development for the past few years, and the preparations for the championship. He hoped that this championship could promote the spread of sound tennis concept, the sowing of seeds of friendship, integration of multi-culture and new development of Chinese university sports causes represented by tennis.

Gao Tijian, vice chairman of Henan Provincial Political Consultative Conference, delivered a speech, expressing warm welcome to all college athletes and heartfelt thanks to all sectors of society for supporting the building of Henan sports cause. Niu Weilin, chairman of Chinese College Students Sports Association, spoke at the opening ceremony and gave high praise to the good preparations by Zhengzhou University.

The Chinese University Tennis Championship is a traditional match approved by Federation of University Sports of China and hosted by the tennis branch of Federation of University Sports of China. It has been held successfully for 20 years since 1994 and has become an annual championship in the Federation of University Sports of China with the largest scale and highest level. The successful holding of the match has accelerated the sports exchange among national universities and further promoted the popularity of tennis on university campuses. In addition, it has made substantial efforts and contributions to answering the call of the Party and country to transform China into a leading power both in education and sports.

The championship is divided into two groups: the student group and the President Cup. The student group is subdivided into group A, group B and group C, covering such events as follows: men’s team, women’s team, men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s doubles, etc. The players of the President Cup are mostly college leaders who are also tennis fans. It is divided into four groups which were doubles of group A, doubles of group B, doubles of group C and doubles of group D, and has 22 events. The finals will be held in outdoor tennis courts of Zhengzhou University, tennis hall of Zhengzhou University and tennis hall of Henan University of Technology on 30th, July.